DB News, Gossip, & Pop Culture

February 8, 2010

My Picks for the 82nd Academy Awards


Best Actress In A Supporting Role – Vera Farmiga

Not only was Up in the Air critically acclaimed, but Vera is not afraid to get naked (Running Scared). Also, I loved her in The Departed.

Best Actor In A Supporting Role – Christoph Waltz

If Cristoph Waltz didn’t make you shit your pants with his performance in Inglourious Basterds, then you were clearly watching a different movie. This guy was amazing and he’s going to take this award home well deserved. What I don’t get is why Matt Damon wasn’t nominated for his role as a rat in The Departed, but got nominated for playing a rugby player. Essentially to prepare for that role, they told him to play rugby.

Best Actress In A Leading Role – Gabourey Sidibe

I haven’t seen Precious, but the Academy (more recently) is prone to giving this award away almost randomly (Halle Berry) regardless of whether they truly deserve it (Kate Winslet) or not (Reese Witherspoon). At least Precious dealt with some serious shit or something. Besides, Sandra Bullock is not an Academy Award kind of actress, Helen Mirren already won one for The Queen and Meryl Streep seems to just get nominated for fun these days.

Best Actor In A Leading – George Clooney

Up in the Air does everything right, and I can see Clooney walking away with this one. Jeff Bridges was robbed an Academy Award nomination for his role in The Big Lebowski, but I don’t know if this is his year. Also, I think it’d be absolutely ridiculous for Morgan Freeman (who is an excellent actor and I love his voice) to win just because he played Nelson Mandela. Invictus was about rugby. You think about that.

Best Director – Kathryn Bigelow



I want more than anything for Quentin Tarantino to win for Inglourious, but the Academy is far from being that cool. The person I do NOT want winning it is James Cameron. Just because Terminator, Titanic, and True Lies were bad ass films, doesn’t mean making shit blow up in 3-D and having a generic ass plot make a movie amazing.

Best Original Screenplay – Inglourious Basterds

This is not even debatable. If you think otherwise, I’m absolutely positive you have no idea what a screenplay is.

Best Picture – District 9

This is definitely the dark horse of the Awards. Considering Slumdog Millionaire almost went straight to DVD and won Best Picture (and Best Director along with a slew of other crazy shit), District 9 was a film that was not only entertaining, it was suspenseful, thought provoking, and showed man at his best and worst. If it were up to me, I’d also give this award to Quentin Tarantino, but like I said, the Academy is not that cool. I will really hate the Academy if they give this shit to Avatar, fuck that film. I will cry (again) if they give it to Up because that movie not only touched my heart, but it also touched my weiner.

[Source IDon’tLikeYouInThatWay]

2 Comments »

  1. Wow, we are definitely at odds with these picks. Do you really think District 9 has a hope of winning best picture? If this was 5 nominations like usual (and like it should be), I highly doubt D9 would even be there.

    Comment by ianthecool — February 8, 2010 @ 10:04 PM

    • You make a good point. That’s why I think District 9 is a dark horse. Odds are it’s going to go to Avatar or something that makes me sad inside.

      Comment by DBNewsWorld — February 11, 2010 @ 7:19 PM


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

